Fiverr Community Forum

I got permanentely banned from fiverr and don't know what to think/ do

I am a little lost here. I posted earlier and i followed your advice and reached out to fiverr support. This is what happened.

I started my little Fiverr business about 2 weeks ago. I put a lot of effort and some money in it (ordered professional thumbnails, video for gigs etc.) and it was going well - i already collected a few 5* - reviews (i am actually trained for the service i offered). Since i was planning to eventually get a steady income with fiverr i feel a bit stupid now.

Fist of all: I know that i am the one to blame here.

So what i offered is proofreading for a specific language (not english). I have a lot of experience and so far i mostly corrected academic texts (thesis etc.). This is why i created a gig saying i’d do exactly that. Beforehand i checked out the competition and found some big players on fiverr like the “thesis doctor”.

Now, 2 weeks in, my account gets permanentely banned. Fiverr says it’s not allowed to offer any kind of service that has anything to do with academics. Okay. I was confused - everybody else was doing it, for a long time, successful, having thousends of ratings. But appearently it’s in the ToS so i didn’t even bother fiverr with the “other’s are doing it”. I didn’t read the ToS, my bad.

I wrote a detailed mail to the fiverr support. I explained everything to them and sincerely apologized. I was very polite. I told them that i’d never do anything unethical and that i wasn’t aware of the strict rules regarding grammar & spelling corrections of academic texts.

They replied a few times and actually asked the team which made the decision to ban me if they could reconsider. They didn’t.

Now i a) want to vent and b) want to ask for your opinion and c) want to ask for other options.