Fiverr Forum

If you are skilled. do the competition matter?

I am a shopify expert. I am a php and mysql expert. I am a web design expert. But i am confused. Some people saying that already a lot of people doing this in fiverr. i mean a lot of gigs made on these skills. Competition is very tough. You should change you skill set.
What should i do now. Should i add more skills or i should fight with what i can do. Should i care about the competition level.

2 Likes

High competition doesn’t necessarily mean you should quit a niche. It can simply mean that you’ll face a struggle trying to differentiate yourself within a crowded market.

Being an expert in your field, especially on Fiverr, can help you stand out from the crowd, but I still believe you’ll struggle to be believed, at least at first. The reason for that is everybody says they’re an expert. I’ve seen logo designers selling stolen work while claiming to be graphic design experts. I’ve seen writers claiming to be English experts despite not knowing how to put a sentence together.
“Professional” and “expert” have become two of the most overused, worthless words on the whole site. It’s not enough to just rock up to the site and say, “hey, I’m good,” because everybody else is already doing that.

If you can concretely demonstrate that you’re far superior to your competition, then you may find your highly competitive niche to be very profitable. If you can’t prove your ability in a concrete way that resonates with your potential buyers, then I feel you face a long, hard struggle to get consistent orders.

3 Likes

Yes. i agree. Thanks for clearing the issue.

1 Like

Competition is ALWAYS a factor.

A needle in a haystack is still a needle in a haystack even it’s the best needle ever.

I’m not saying to give up. I’m just saying that competition always needs to be a consideration. It can help you to differentiate and specialize in a niche.