I'm no magician!

Like some of you have mentioned before, some buyers carry on as if they’re paying 1000’s of dollars. My goodness 90% of the content on fiverr is a Major Bargain, anywhere else they’d be charged ten times more!

I’m an illustrator and although I state clearly that I need large high resolution images of people they need illustrated I still get some goons giving me a blurry blob and then aren’t happy with my work samples. I’m just saying, I don’t do magic!

Anyone else experienced this?

I get lots of people who contact me about things like my tiny figurines wanting me to make full-sized dolls or some such. I have to politely tell them that that simply isn’t within the realm of my abilities, and certainly not for the price I’m asking.

There seem to be two distinct kinds of buyers on Fiverr.

Those who are so deeply bargain hunting that they’re looking to squeeze out of someone every ounce they can for as little as possible…

And…

Those who are looking for hidden treasures (perhaps at a bargain even for life) but more importantly, they’re looking to “Find those hidden treasures” for a small test investment and then are willing to pay full and fair value AFTER a proven test.

I set up my business to sort for the LATTER.

If you want to make a pearl necklace, you have to shuck a lot of oysters!

Reply to @anarchofighter:

There are a number in the first category but you can spot them coming a mile off. They usually message you before placing an order and ask for something which is far beyond what your gig states. One of the most outrageous ones, and I’ve had some, was where I was asked if I could make a video advertising some educational offering. It soon became very apparent they wanted it for a company to use in an advertising campaign and even asked me if I could get some actors to appear in it, yes seriously.