Fiverr Community Forum

I'm not understanding why a mutual cancellation would count against me!

Hi. I’m new to Fiverr so I’m still learning the ends and outs of this website. However, I was not aware that a mutual cancellation, which was through no fault of my own, would count against me. The buyer requested a voiceover that was clearly for “commercial use” but refused to purchase the Commercial Use License. When I advised the buyer of this, they said they didn’t want to buy it and asked for a refund. What am I supposed to do? Be a doormat and let people get over on me because they placed an order and blatantly ignored the terms of service? Now it seems like I’m being punished for it because suddenly I’m not getting any orders and my views have gone way down. Any advise for a Newbie on how I should address it? Thanks!

4 Likes

It’s a difficult position to be in. You made a choice between a rock and a hard place.

There is not much you can do in relation to being penalized for a buyer not reading through what your Gig offers before clicking away without a care in the world - because, it doesn’t harm “their” buyer reputation - but, it sure kills a sellers as we have no recourse to this nonsense. I had a client who is really nice, but, ordered something I could NOT perform in 1 day - and had to cancel so she could reorder with the appropriate time frame it would take me. That ONE mutual cancellation took me from 100% down to 98% (I have not had a cancellation in months!) and, in all the orders I have delivered since then, that darn 98 has NOT moved an inch! AS for the “response” time thing - I was at 100% and had ONE I didn’t answer in time, and that took me to 95%! I have been answering all other NEW correspondence within the time frame, and get this - my percentage today went from 95 to 94% LOL I know the thing is counted as your performance the last 60 days, but this is ridiculous to lose 6% points and have only missed one message.

GG

2 Likes