Fiverr Community Forum

Important tip for sellers offering English proofreading and editing services

LEARN HOW TO READ AND WRITE IN ENGLISH BEFORE OFFERING THIS SERVICE!!!

So, I posted a request today requesting an editor for a short document. Of the 20 offers I received, there was only ONE from someone I might possibly, maybe, consider paying to look at my document.

Here’s a sample of what I received (And it should go without saying, all of this is [SIC]):

“Hi. I Can be your document proofreader and editor. I worked with a popular magazine as an editor in chief. I have good experience to make sure your document come out clean without error or grammatical blunders.”

…I can see why you are no longer editor-in-chief of Popular Magazine.

“Hey. As I’m an English teacher. I can accurately proofread your document.”

…I feel sorry for your students

“hi, i am good in article writing and editing. my work is to clean up your document as much possible within minimum possible time.”

…I have nothing to say to this

“Very good :slight_smile: I am a native English speaker who is professionally sound, order my gig now”

…dude, you already lost the gig with the smiley face, but making your offer sound like a demand was icing on the cake.

Though, I think my favourite was this guy:

“Hello dear customer. I am an experienced researcher who handles academic and technical writing tasks satisfactorily. My work is always plagiarism free. I have vast knowledge on this subject and will give you perfect results. Please assign me the task.”

…I was really tempted to send him a message to ask him exactly what subject he has vast knowledge on.

Also, really READ the request. I stated that I needed the document edited to AP Style. I received about a dozen offers in which the seller bragged about how well-versed they were in APA formatting…So close, yet so far from what I requested.

3 Likes

I’m impressed that some knew to capitalize the pronoun I, and use periods.