Fiverr Community Forum

Invoicing and tax declaration for German sellers

Hello community,
I am trying to understand how to deal with Fiverr’s earnings for tax purposes. I work as a freelancer in Germany and am therefore generally subject to sales tax and income tax.
Now I’m trying to figure out how to prepare my invoice for Fiverr. Whether / which taxes have to be levied, how I list the services, etc. If someone here also works in Germany and has already found a legally compliant contact, I ask for clarification :wink:

1. Pricing at Fiverr
    As far as I know, buyers on Fiverr receive an invoice that does not include sales tax. This corresponds to the explanation in the guide “… all prices and fees that appear on the site are the NET AMOUNTS that will be paid …”

For the seller it says: “The price shown on the Gig page (…) is inclusive of all such taxes and charges that may apply to Sellers.” So, as a seller, I have to set the price in such a way that any tax levies are included.

Perhaps I understand too little about this, or think too complicated, but how can a price be viewed as a gross amount for one side (seller) and this price as a net amount for the other side (buyer) ?! It doesn’t make sense to me.

I have already written to the Chamber of Commerce Abroad in Israel to ask whether the reverse charge procedure should be used, but I have not yet received an answer. The same applies to Fiverr support. They say you should send invoices to support, but I don’t know under which category you should send the invoice (does anyone have any suggestions?).

1. Invoicing
    I get my money transferred in euros, which means that a conversion from to € takes place. This rate changes every month and can be viewed in a table from the European Central Bank. If I display the amount as in my account and then convert it to € using the current exchange rate, I get a difference of about 5% in the result. So what rate is Fiverr expecting here?