Is asking for more money ever appropriate?

go_ginger

Hi there! I wasn’t sure where else to put this question, so hopefully this the right place 🙂 Also, sorry for what is probably going to be a super long post.

I had a buyer purchase a gig and ask for something different…

Some details:
The listing was to help someone interested in going vegan. Specifically, it included the story of my personal journey, a list of vegan products and where to get them, links to helpful blogs, social media accounts, etc., and links to recipes tailored to the buyer (Foods they won’t eat, allergies, etc.). Basically, it was to take some of the guesswork out of the process and make things a little easier for someone making the switch. The gig is $15

The buyer purchased the gig and said they were an ecommerce company selling vegan products and they wanted a blog post about my personal vegan journey and 5 recipes. Now, I’m not a pro blogger, but I know blog posts go for a lot more than $15, especially considering the 5 recipes. I explained that this was not the intent of the original gig, so I had questions. They answereed each question, were very polite, and I decided to continue with the gig.

Two days in and I’m still working on typing up the recipes. The blog post itself is done and it only took me a couple hours to complete. But the recipes are proving to be taking a while. The buyer specified they wanted the recipes to be my personal ones, rather than links to recipes. Since my recipes are in my brain I’ve had to figure them out in terms of measurements and type them up. They also want a brief description for each recipe.