Fiverr Forum

Is Fiverr actually serious?

I got an email this morning about my tutoring gig being cancelled…here’s the important bit:

• Taking part in doing someone else’s academic work (which will likely be submitted as the student’s own work) or engaging in acts of plagiarism/unauthorised copying is a violation of most, if not all, schools’ Honor Codes and constitutes copyright infringement. This behavior can lead to the suspension or expulsion of students. Fiverr does not allow this type of fraudulent activities and it will not be permitted on our platform.

Let me start my rant by saying, I’m a formerly credentialed teacher as it says in my profile, so I know very well the definition of plagiarism. I also know quite clearly, which it seems Fiverr does not, how tutoring works and that it is FAR different than anything they suggested is going on.

Now as I yet to have a client base on Fiverr for tutoring it makes little difference to me that they have CANCELLED my gig for a load of nonsense. I’ll just build my tutoring business elsewhere.

My Fiverr experience leaves much to be desired.

3 Likes

Fiverr has no way to know what you’re actually doing in the tutoring. You could be doing schoolwork for all they know. They have to have quality control here.

6 Likes

If all they are doing is quality control it should have some reference to star ratings and reviews. I’m also fairly sure that if it is a copyright infringement, those being infringed upon would be coming after me and my business.

According to this definition, no teacher anywhere should be allowed to teach, tutor or mentor regardless of platform or location. If I help a student do a problem in a classroom I’m doing my job, not violating school policy or code in the slightest.

If you type “tutoring gig removed” in the search bar above there are several posts on the subject.

These may be of interest to you.

4 Likes