Is it common to give buyer our master file?

kyramyesha

Hi,
Im new in fiverr (as a designer). I provide a simple video with template for basic gig and im not gonna share the master file to buyer, because it is my core product. Is that not common? The buyer didnt state that he need it when we make a deal, and now he mocking me. hahhaah.

Buyer have a use licence, they can use my final design everywhere they want. But not to use my master file, because i make design from that master file for every customer.

I want to know, is it common to give buyer our master file (for poster or video)??

Thank you

If the Delivery Box mentions to upload the master files then you have to upload it, that’s how the order will be fully delivered otherwise it will be partially delivered and you will then get warning and maybe banned. When customer purchase something, they also owns the rights of the final product. So why would you not share a master file? You cannot do anything with it. Neither use it in other project nor resell it. So how about just give them the master file?

Yes, it’s common because they might need it.

When you commission a design, you want access to that original file because you may need it. What if you need to change the dimensions? What if you need to adapt the file contents when you change the project?

As possession of the original file makes it more valuable and flexible for the client, you can raise your rate to include it. I’m just not sure why you don’t understand why a client would want it. There’s nothing nefarious about that and it’s pretty standard for commissioned design work.

In any case, before purchase it needs to be clear if the master file is included. If that isn’t clear, then you don’t owe it to the seller.