Is this a ridiculous question?

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to fiver - been here 10 days as a seller, and have had just about 11 clients so far, and all delivered work has received good feedback.

My question is regarding accepting orders. I make it really clear in my gig that I need buyers to contact me and discuss their requirements BEFORE ordering/buying the gig - but I’ve had a few who simply haven’t done that. It feels like they can hold me ransom in some ways - I’m at their mercy if I don’t want a bad review, and they can demand whatever they like for $5. Am I missing something? Is it possible not to accept an order without affecting my current stats?

Thanks for all your help!

Angela x

You don’t need to work with them if they have unreasonable requests. Unless I’m missing something and it’s not available for new sellers or something, you have the option to send them a mutual cancellation request along with an explanation.

In case they don’t accept it (in my experience they usually do), you can contact support to help you solve the issue.

Yes, it’s a tough situation. The first response is to send a mutual cancellation, then remorse and the reality of getting a high cancellation rate sets in. I have found that it really comes down to reverse psychology. The old, “this ashtray was stolen from Mel’s diner” type thing. As soon as you give a command in your gig description, people are going to do the opposite. It is just human nature, sadly. I have started putting little notes in my reviews. Not the nicest thing to do, but it gives people cause for pause.

Some buyers deliberately place orders without contacting the seller just to see what they can get away with. Having said that, I - as a buyer - really dislike the “Contact me first!” gigs because I know it’s often just a way for the seller to refuse to actually sell anything for just $5. I dislike the upsell.

yes, do a mutual cancellation with a polite stating that you need everyone to contact you first.