Is this is a scam? Please help!

Hi guys! I am new to this site and I just went live last night with my voice over gig. I was excited when I got this message this morning but then I thought twice about it… seemed like a weird request to me being that my VO demo is on my profile…could it be a scam? Has anyone received a request like this? Is this a scam or do you think it’s ok to send her my VO demo via separate mp3.

“Hi! We are looking for a female US voice talent for our e-training project. Could you please send me some of your best quality demos here in mp3 or WAV format so that I could get the approval of your voice from the client? Thank you very much in advance! Warmest regards, Emilia”

What do you think? I appreciate your advice in advance!
-Christie

Hello Christie @rebeldarling,

i’m not sure if that’s a scam. I’m not a VO artist, but i ever got a similar request from a potential buyer. She asked for the soft file of my portfolios on my gig page in high-resolution and told that she would like to show them to her client for approval. She told me that her in-house designer was on vacation.

I sent some to her without any suscpicion of scam, since they have been posted on in my Behance page. Beside, portfolios are too specific in term of use and can’t be used without any permission.

Long story short, she’s my repeat buyer until now, and always ask for the same request whenever she need to outsource a design work.

Since i don’t know much about VO niche and with the assumption that you have publish the requested demo on reverbnation or else, i think will be fine to send him the mp3 version of your demo. Sending WAV is not recommended since it could be “sampled” (i don’t know the right term for it, but all i want to say is WAV can be used for manipulation since it still raw).

Hope that help :grinning: