Issue with a buyer

belengarcia

Hi Fiverr fellows!

I’d like to know what’s your view about an issue. I’m a translator (English to Spanish), and right now I’m translating a client’s website. His native language is German and he (or someone hired by him) translated his site to English. I’m doing the Spanish version using the English one as source text.

The thing is that a couple of articles have the worst English I’ve ever seen. Out of curiosity I pasted the German version on Google Translate and, bingo!, the English article is a goggle translation of the German one 😦 .

So… what would you do in my position? Should I tell my buyer? Maybe he did it himself, and he already knows and it’s ok with it. Or maybe he hired someone, and been cheated…

What would you guys do? Do I tell him?

Thanks

I think you should absolutely tell the buyer. In a professional way of course, ask them if they were aware this was a straight google translation. And then let them know that since you will essentially need to re-write some of the articles you would need to charge a bit more.

Reply to @annai80: Why wouldn’t you suggest that seller mentions it was checked on google? I would think it’s important that this buyer know that they need to do a bit more research when hiring someone for tranlation as well as checking it somehow to make sure they are not getting swindled.

p.s. - the other thing though to mention when you politely tell this guy it’s from Google translation, is to maybe ask if they are aware that Google translation is not that accurate?

It’s quite possible that non-native English speaking individuals would not have any concept that a Google translation is no good. I mean it’s Google, they are kid of the world in many ways, so I can maybe see how someone might think hey this is a free translation tool, I’ll just use that.