Just made my first sale - Some learnings I'd like to share

prahladyeri

Fellow Sellers,

I made my first sale today on one of my gigs (“Install and configure SuiteCRM”) after several days of working on them. The order was executed smoothly in a matter of hours and I received a generous tip apart from a wonderful review and rating! So yay, I’m very happy to have taken that first little step towards what I hope will be a successful small business.

So, right now, I’d like to take a few steps back and think about all those changes I kept making to my gig content and what actually clicked and made this sale happened. And, I think I’ve found an answer to that!

Apart from being a Software Developer, I’m also an Economics graduate, so I’m well aware of the basic laws of supply and demand in the market. The concept of “niche” which is very well known on the Internet and social media marketing circles is based on these very laws.

The market works with the interaction of supply and demand, and with these two comes competition. In a perfectly competitive market, there are lots of sellers and a lot of saturation. When there are an infinite number of sellers with 5 star ratings and lots of good reviews, who is going to consider a new entrant like me? The failure to realize this fact was my first mistake when I placed this first gig on fiverr a few days ago:

> I can write a script or program for you in php or python or Java
(181 impressions, but zero sales :-()

Since day one, I knew there was something wrong with this gig title, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on that. The problem is that its too generic. Almost anyone can claim to do this and thus the overwhelming competition and market saturation! Then came my second attempt at gig again with zero sales:

> I can install and maintain Wordpress CMS on your server
(36 impressions, but zero sales :-()