My gig just got cancelled

plappen

To quote from the email I just received:
We appreciate you taking the time to create/update your Gig review your small press or self published book and post it everywhere. Unfortunately we had to remove your Gig.
The reason is:
We do not allow writing and posting of paid-for reviews. It is misleading and illegal in certain jurisdictions.

I realize that the entire Internet is getting very particular about payment for reviews. I have been doing this since 2010, and now it’s illegal?!

Does anyone have any suggestions for a book review gig that would be acceptable?

Thanks in advance.

We appreciate you taking the time to create/update your Gig review your small press or self published book and post it everywhere. Unfortunately we had to remove your Gig.

The reason is:

We do not allow writing and posting of paid-for reviews. It is misleading and illegal in certain jurisdictions.

I realize that the entire Internet is getting very particular about payment for reviews. I have been doing this since 2010, and now it’s illegal?!

Does anyone have any suggestions for a book review gig that would be acceptable?

Thanks in advance.

I am sorry you had this happen, however I for one am glad this is happening.

Maybe you could offer reviews for authors who send you a free copy of their book? 📚

I am sorry you had this happen, however I for one am glad this is happening.

Maybe you could offer reviews for authors who send you a free copy of their book? 📚

If you want an official suggestion (and for your gig to stay), you’ll have to ask Customer Support.

Generally speaking, paid reviews are not allowed. Period. Maybe you can offer something like “I will write my thoughts about your book on my personal blog”, though I’m not sure even that would be allowed.

Amazon sued 1,000+ people for paid reviews, and Fiverr doesn’t want to get into trouble with Amazon, so they’re staying on the safe side.