Fiverr Community Forum

My response rate has suffered because I didn't reply someone who was asking for a "job"

So I’ve been getting a lot of messages from random people saying that they want to work for me. And I found it weird. I mean, if you want to sell your services just open a gig, right? Why do I have to deal with these kinds of random messages about people asking me to give them jobs? Something is failing in Fiverr’s system?

So, I haven’t replied to the last spam message I got, because I was tired of answering these people. So I just blocked this person. And the first thing I noticed was my response rate dropped to %95from %100 percent. And now, after a few weeks later, I see that my response rate is down to %88 (I haven’t received any messages for weeks). I haven’t been receiving many messages for jobs at all. This is my first year on Fiverr and I don’t know if it is normal to not get a lot of jobs during these winter times. Is it related to my response rate? Fiverr is just giving me less visibility because of that so I am not getting inquiries?

So what I am gathering is, because of these kinds of spam messages, my response rate is suffering. What should I do to fix this? Why is my response rate is suffering because of non-client spammers? Should contacting customer support will help?

Any ideas?

6 Likes

Please mark the messages as spam and report them. Fiverr will make sure their messages don’t impact your response rate, but only if they know what is going on.

3 Likes

Instead of not responding or blocking them immediately, you can politely say no when you receive such texts next time. This will not let your response rate go down.

2 Likes

Reply to Spam asap like anything else then mark it as Spam.

It is a known flaw in the system that even when marked as Spam, a message is still getting its counter. then of course despite the known bug, those metrics are used to define your performance as factual 7 accurate!!!

:slight_smile:

2 Likes