New and Kind of Frustrated

nikkiyager

Good morning, I’m new to Fiverr and I don’t know if I’m doing something wrong or if this is normal, but I am trying to make some extra income to help support bills. I am advertising on my social media networks, using tags and I believe my prices are competitive to what is available out there, yet now bites. The few people who have reached out to me were purely scams trying to get me to reach out to them for interviews on Google Hangouts.

Are there any recommendations to promote yourself and to get those first few reviews to help gain traction? I feel like it’s the “you need the experience to work, but you need a job to gain experience” type things.

Hi Nikki,

I can only take myself as an ‘‘example’’, but I have come across your profile and your gigs and I think there are some ways you can improve on.

First, you always have to post what you did in the past. I personally had to do stuff to include in my portfolio without any pay but just to be able to reach more people.

‘‘I Will Beta Read Up To 2500 Words For You’’ : Post of video of yourself reading, or at least a recording. Buyers buy what you can do, if they just see you with a book, you won’t have any chance.
‘‘I Will Accurately Perform Data Entry For You’’ : Post some work that you have done before, why not a dropbox link of different Excel spreadsheets you have worked on, buyers need to see your work, that’s the most important.

Having many gigs is great and all, but you’d rather do 1 gig very well rather than 10 gigs where you don’t have any review on yet. Specialize, specialize, specialize!

Finally, and it is just a personal take, every word you write is important. Is saying that you live with your husband and pets important? Always think that buyers don’t have time to read, so when they do, they want the most important, not the gibberish. Say what you can do and where you are proficient at, delete the rest.

Cheers!

Hi Nikki,