New to fiverr and getting conflicting messages on pricing- Please help!

I’m new to fiverr and I don’t understand something. Is the five dollars just to get you in and then it is business as usual/main stream or what?

I tried to purchase my first gig the other day and when I sent the guy my information on what I needed.

A wordpress template design or tweeking of what I already have up. (His Choice)

When he contacted me he wanted $200 minimum to start and wanted to invoice me OFF SITE.

Correct me if I am wrong but I’m thinking $200 is a lot higher then the $5 advertized. And if I pay off site how would fiverr ever know if I got the item I paid for or not?

So my question(s)

Is the five dollar pricing just a bate and switch thing to get customers in?

Or is this just some random guy taking advantage?

How does it REALLY work on fiverr?

I need a nice wp template built and have numerous other gigs I would like to outsource but honestly I can find someone right here to do what I need for main stream pricing and/or take advantage of a buyer who is not in the know.

Can some one fill in the blanks for me/ I’m having a hard time understanding how you can legally advertize anything for $5 (No matter how ridiculous it sounds.) and then bump it to hundreds more once the buyer is on the "hook."

Thank you for your help in clarifying this. I’d like to use the site but I need to be able to trust what a seller says and does.

I wrote Fiverr CS days ago but to so far don’t seem to have a reply either in my personal email box, spam box OR my fivrr email box and I need to know what to expect before I commit. (This is the Internet after all and not everyone is honest and someone to trust :frowning:

Thank you

1- People have the right to add some extras to their gigs to get more than 5$. But the main service should only cost you 5$.

2- NO OFF SITE invoices are accepted at Fiverr. Don’t share you contact information with others. You will get banned.