Fiverr Community Forum

New user - Bad review

Okay, so long story short - a buyer left me a bad review. I contacted him and messaged him this:

“Hello! You could’ve contacted me before accepting the order, I would’ve happily revised the work for you”

to which he responded with:

"bro im so sorry it is my first time using fiver it didnt allow me to communicate with you so i thought it was over… now what?"

So my question is - Apparently I could’ve worked this out with the buyer, but he thought that the delivery is final and that there is no way to contact me after that, and he didn’t know that he can request a revision so he left a 5 stars for communication… and 1 star for “Buy again or recommend”.

Now, I know we’re all walking on eggshells here so I contacted CS, and they of course responded with "If they want the review changed, they will have to contact us, however, it’s up to them to do so, you are not allowed to suggest this option to them, as it would essentially be considered as manipulation.
Perhaps revising their order and fixing it for them might prompt them to contact us and have the review changed or removed."

Okay… So… This user didn’t know that he had the option to contact me after the delivery, he didn’t know how to request a revision, so I think it’s safe to conclude that he most likely won’t be familiar that he can edit his review if that isn’t hinted to him. I know the reasoning behind this “Rule” but it is ludicrous, especially when rating is one of the biggest factors that affect our business and CS should look carefully into each specific case.