Fiverr Community Forum

No "Commercial use license" gig listed = "Commercial use license" implied?

If a seller does not have a commercial use license gig listed in their available options, does that mean that I can use what I purchase for commercial use, or does the seller have to directly imply this within their gig’s ad? I’ve read the terms of use and I can’t make heads or tails of it.

3 Likes

Reply to @sincere18: I don’t need to Google it, I have been doing it for 30 years. Let me give you another example, If I record a ringtone or files for sale in an app, do you think I will let them have that for a few dollars? No they would need to buy out the copyright, absolutely not the same as usage or licensing.

1 Like

What kind of gig are you buying?

What does it matter?

1 Like

Reply to @hencook: BEcause while it says in Fiverr that technically once a buyer has a gig deliivered, that the rights then go to the buyer. HOwever, some sellers may want to keep the rights or thing they keep the rights, so I was curious what kind of gig, because some gigs have more value to the seller than others.

No the buyer does not have all rights when delivered, they have right of usage and that is what the commercial gig is for. Think of a hire car you can pay for usage but don’t own the car. Same as digital work, unless the work is subject to a buyout the commercial use covers usage not ownership.

1 Like

Reply to @sincere18: Nah, I think Fiverr just loves money and someone on staff thinks it’s brilliant which spurred it into motion. Especially since they rolled it out inefficiently and with little explanation. But, either way, I agree that it’s going to get talked about! I’ve already seen several threads on it.

They’re voice over gigs btw.