Nothing but BottomFeeders in Buyers Requests

hughmura

I’ve been a voiceover artist on Fiverr for 2 1/2 years. About a year ago, the management at Fiverr encouraged us to increase our prices to approximate Industry Standards. Essentially, that’s $150 for 30 seconds of audio. Fiverr has done a great job marketing their brand as “Anything for $5”. In order to comply with Fiverr’s push to increase my prices (and their profit) in the VO category, I raised my price to a whopping $25 for 200 words, far below the “real world” industry-standard. I attracted a few good clients, willing to pay for quality VO, recognizing they were getting a huge bargain. And yet, every time I visit the Buyer’s Request section for VO, a daily habit, I find nothing but bottom feeders, looking for professional VO for $4 (that’s $5 minus Fiverr’s 20% cut). Way to go, Fiverr, your marketing and moniker, “Fiverr”, continues to attract global clients that think $5 is fair compensation.

Hello Hugh, I’ve never used BR since I’ve been here. I think that it might be a matter of choosing what kind of fees you want to charge, based on not only your ability and experience but also on the economics of the country you live in.

There may be voiceover artists who need reviews due to being new and are willing to do some voiceovers for $5 until they build up their reputations.

I think over time the perception of fiverr is changing. There are all price ranges now on fiverr and many higher priced sellers are mostly doing well as far as I can tell. These higher priced sellers don’t get bottom feeders as clients.

Your ability as a voiceover artist is extremely professional and experienced and you may find you can charge more than $20. A voiceover artist of your caliber might even stand out more if you charged $30 for example with some high priced extras.