Fiverr Forum

Persistent Buyer troubles :/

Basically, on my art gig, I state very clearly that I “do not do work for books - especially children’s books”. I say this because not only is it extremely time-consuming when I have other orders and school work, but I also don’t find it particularly fair that I would be selling a picture for $5 and someone will be making much, much more off it. Call it selfish, but, hey. Sorry. My gig is for personalised gifts for family and friends, and I want it to stay that way.

This buyer has messaged me asking to make an audio book. I politely declined and expressed my qualms with it, but he’s not taking no for an answer and I’m not very good at saying ‘no’ for long before I get guilt-tripped into it. He wants my phone number to chat about it and that made me a little uncomfortable, to be fair :’)

He wants to discuss it before I say no, but I was very clear with him as to why I didn’t want to do it and I will only waver if I discuss it further, and then get angry with myself later when I break and bust my hump to draw for this book, to get no credit as illustrator and a rather small amount of money for something that will be published and sold everywhere. Like I said; I prefer projects that are personalised gifts. I don’t want to draw for books.

Can I get some advice? I know the whole ‘I don’t want to draw for books’ is a very spoilt, childish thing to say, but, please try and level with me? :slight_smile:

You sound like you’re referring to intellectual property rights, which do not apply in cases like this. Copyright ownership fails when a graphic is designed, to another persons specifications and money changes hands.

You’re talking about licensing, which is to take an image that already exists and sell the rights to use it for something. In that case, the copyright holder still maintains the “Final say”.