Fiverr Community Forum

Please share your first sale experience!

Hi there… I am quite new in Fiverr, and still trying hard. Anyway, I’d like to listen to other freelancers’ experience when they got their first sales.

-How did you manage it?
-What did you/your client think was so outstanding in your gig that they chose to purchase yours?
-What other quality (attitude/fast response/eyecatching title/banner , etc) that you think is important to gain clients?
-Is it true that after the first sale, other clients will easily come again?

Please kindly tell your story and don’t forget to mention what type of gig you were selling as well. Thankyou very much for sharing and have a good day everyone! ^^

3 Likes

Hi, Lidya. This could be fun to write.
My first sale came from my first buyer request offer, it was for a podcast logo. They had a budget around 10-15$ and wanted something simple.

I started working as soon as I got the order, it was after dinner. I asked some questions because he was online, he replied as I was changing my design on the go, and I delivered it without even a preview in the chat. He accepted it instantly.
It was cool, but not perfect nor mindblowing; the guy really liked it however, and he left me a 5$ tip.

I think he received anywhere from 30 to 60 offers, but he said he chose me because he liked that I did a little background research (I googled their name and asked if it was "the podcast with the girl talking about […]), rather than sending something automated.
Note that it wasn’t particularly well written, I just presented my idea, which was something that looked like that from a '70s game show, and asked if they were the right people.

• As for the response time, I will only say that I see how pretty often the best sellers with glowing reviews or hundreds of them take 3 to 9 hours to respond. If someone comes to you directly, they may be conscious about your time zone and won’t refer to other sellers so quickly.