Protecting Artists Rights on Fiverr

jessejayjones

Greetings! I am a professional animator and artist of 5 years, and I’m here on Fiverr just to make a little extra money outside of my regular job.

I have some concerns about artists potentially being taken advantage of on this website and I would just like to discuss some of my personal concerns and thoughts on the matter.

It’s no secret that businesses, companies, and individuals LOVE using Fiverr to help promote their businesses. There’s a lot of talented individuals on here doing great work for dirt cheap! This is fine for simple things like birthday cards or art just for fun, but where my concerns come in is how businesses use artists’ work for their own profit, while paying the artist as little as possible for the work ($5 - $20). According to Fiverr’s terms of service, a buyer may do whatever they wish with the work produced, which means they own to copywrite to it, and may use it for print, billboard, and selling your work, so while the artist gets paid $4 (minus Fiverr’s rather large 20% commission) the buyer could be potentially getting rich off of your work! I’ve even seen schemes where people will get logo design work for $100, and come on to this site and get an unknowing artist to do it for 5 bucks, netting them a sweet $95 profit for no work!

Fiverr states that buyers own the work, UNLESS you specify otherwise in your gig. I suggest ALL artists on Fiverr practice these steps:

• On your gig, explicitly state that the material produced may NOT be sold or used commercially, unless rights to the works are purchased separately (charge what you think is fair for this, because remember, this is our years of training, practice, and schooling they are purchasing. Not just the artwork itself.)