Fiverr Forum

Protection for sellers? Is there any?

Unfortunately, a decent portion of my livelihood comes from fiverr. I’m a trained and pofessional artist for over 20 years and so I practically give my work away; my efforts would worth quite a bit more in any other sales format but I have bills to pay. And frankly I’m seeing a VERY disturbing trend here on Fiverr. There’s basically zero protection against fraud for the seller. When dealing with art, there is no “Yes, this is correct or no this is wrong” but a person can simply see a level of quality. And most people really are good people not trying to take advantage of others, so I’ve had many good experiences here. However, (There’s always a however) there just isn’t protection for he seller. Buyer orders. Seller does the work. Buyer says “I don’t like it” but has the final product and gets to keep the work. Seller can either give the buyer more art, or not get paid for the original art. There’s no moderator to protect the seller who worked hard.

At one point I thought I’d send some messages as I had a particularly pompous would-be-Hollywood-actress client trying to get additional free art and she had the whole order cancelled and of course kept the art. No payment for the seller, so I sent a letter to Fiverr admin, and got very polite response stating the buyer can complain to PayPal and there’s not much Fiverr can do about it, but at least they kept her from giving me fake bad feedback, which admittedly I was thankful for.

So now I’m a bit gun shy about the jobs I take, since I cannot afford to work for free. This is bad for me and fiverr since they lose out on the work I have to cancel for fear of a difficult buyer.

I take the time to rant because A) Maybe Fiverr will take note and offer moderation or B) someone has advice that I’m not finding anywhere. And yeah, kissing the buyers you know what doesn’t work when they’re trying to pull a fast one. It just doesn’t.

So am I missing something?