Fiverr Forum

Raising the price HIGHER than your competition

I am basically new to Fiverr. Before I closed my Gig down I had managed to get 26 completed orders done (gig was only live for maybe a month or so). I already knew I would get sales because I run my own website and have been selling my digital service for over 10 years. I did a test on my Gig. I started out with the “lower price than the competition” method and got zero sales. I then tried “higher price than the competition” and …yep, you guessed it. Sales lol. Views were up also. I learned this years ago as I applied the same test to my own website and it also worked. Now with that said, I am not telling anyone to do what I did, I just think its interesting that buyers seeing the higher price at least got them to look, (and in my case also buy). People are curious when they see a price that is way above the others. It’s like they have to see if its actually that good…lol. Now if your Gig material sucks…well… I have never been a fan of dropping the price to a bare minimum because it cheapens my work and the times I did that on my own site, it also brought a different clientele that had that low price mentality.

I am by no means a Fiver expert, not even close, but if I had to give ONE thing I think got me a good amount of sales in a short time was this - 1 Day Service (24 hours) - Most the competition is like 2 or 3 days, so in my Gig description I wrote something like this - “No need to pay extra for fast delivery, ALL orders are done within 24 hours” . This not only hammers in that the service will be quick, but also that you are saving the buyer money where others charge.

Hope this helps someone.

18 Likes

I can imagine! Price can definitely impact perception. Most professionals won’t expect much value or quality from a seller who seriously undercharges and overdelivers. Professional people know that you get what you pay for.

12 Likes