Fiverr Forum

Reigning in Emotions when Dealing with Difficult Clients

Freelancing isn’t all butterflies and flowers. I have been a freelancer on a variety of freelancing websites for 4 years. Fiverr has been a new experience for me since I joined only 4 months ago. Regardless of the freelancing website, however, there has always been one constant factor: difficult clients. Although rare, difficult clients have a way of breaking my stride and causing me to respond negatively.

I define difficult clients as those who are rude, who want to barter to get your price down to much less than what the job is worth, or who are highly unreasonable. Since working on Fiverr, I have had a client who was a combination of all 3 attributes. That was one of the most stressful experiences for me. Reminiscing on the situation, however, I know that I allowed my emotions to get in the way of my interaction with him. The same has been true for all experiences I have had with difficult clients.

Using Fiverr has shown me that I need to reign in my emotions so that I can provide a top-notch service for all of my clients. Difficult clients shouldn’t ruffle my feathers. So, I’ve been using some new strategies to help me better deal with difficult clients.

1. Take a few minutes to respond when upset. I have a tendency to respond instantly. This has been especially good for the clients I have no problems with. However, when I am upset and I respond to difficult clients, all hell breaks loose. So, I have learnt to take a deep breath, count to 10, and think about the most politically correct response to the client.
  2. Focus on the product instead of the client’s personality. I’ve learnt to look beyond the words and zoom into what the client really wants. When I identify this, I can produce the result and allow the client to feel satisfied. Providing quality service is my number one priority, despite the client.