Rejected a buyer?

nandinimajumdar

Hi!
I’m an illustrator, mainly involved in anime stuff.
Also, I’m pretty new here 😆

PNG-without-bg.thumb.jpg.56f0bcc3bc56688fe32a38b5ba789eb1.jpg
1200×800 122 KB

(first buyer’s illustration, completed, png image without bg)

So this was actually the second person who had contacted me in the 11 days that I’ve been here, asking for (obviously) some illustrations. They wanted just the lineart, for 4 different character illustrations FULL BODY.

At first they offered $10, telling me to make a custom offer for them. I was like - NO WAY! Just $10 for 4 full body illustrations?! Like, what on earth!?

I usually charge $10 PER character, and after some negotiation they went away and I was relieved. After some days, they returned and offered $12. I asked for an increase, and they said then they’d pay $14 for flat coloured, full body 4 illustrations. Also, they mentioned that they’re apparently very ‘flexible with concepts and time, and that isn’t being valued’.

I denied the whole offer politely, asking them to find someone else.

Now, I’m (literally) in love with my first buyer, he’s SO nice and knows how to speak. He offered me way more than I charge, but I brought the price down by $5 for him since he’s my first ever buyer. I’ve been sending him my progress (it’s almost done now) and he’s like - you should charge way more, you know, you’re so good at what you do. Since I’m new, I’m keeping the price low.

I guess some buyers still need to understand the time and effort we spend on making their products. Now everyone is different, and most people are generally nice and understanding.

I wonder if something like this had happened to you, too, at some point? Or was I too arrogant to deny the offer? Please let me know!