Requests, and "gig" responses

nizate

I am working on a huge project, one that will take quite some time to complete. It is a commercial project for myself and my company. However, I am no artist. I created a request for someone to create 10 very detailed characters in anime/manga style, gave pretty good specifics and then spoke with people who sent me a gig.

80% just spammed me their unrelated gig.

10% Claimed they could do it, sent me OTHER people’s works and drawings saying they created it.

10% Didn’t read what I wrote in the gig, and/or were under qualified.

The 80% is annoying as hell. I understand there are a lot of people to compete with, but seriously…

The scam artists piss me off, why waste my time offering a service in which you are just using other people’s work? Definitely reported the scammers. (Report function is kinda weird, and doesn’t allow explanation of why you report them?)

The last 10% were people who I conversed with, they sent sample work, or had the wrong type of style or qualifications for the project… Those I didn’t mind…

Just my experience so far with the requests portion of Fiverr so far.

I’m a seller who’s not in an area anywhere near what you’re looking for, so I’ve got no vested interest in selling you something.

In my honest opinion, the best way to find a match for the style you prefer is to start browsing through artists on the site. I’ll start by saying that with a “large” project, you’ll want a seller who you are also sure is worth their salt, so I would limit searches to Level 2 and Top Rated Sellers. These folks have been on Fiver a while and have figured out not only how to do their craft, but also how to better communicate with customers. They’ve earned their titles, and they will have samples of actual work in their live portfolios.