Responding to Contradictory Requests: Feedback Sought

thetruemelissa

Hey all,

I’m an editor, and I’m looking for some feedback on how to address an issue with a client. I’ve edited for them quite a few times. I originally applied all grammar rules strictly, including comma rules, as their guidelines said they wanted. After quite a few manuscripts, I received a message telling me that in the future they would prefer me to apply comma rules less strictly and judge by the flow of the sentence instead. Commas are flexible little guys, so no worries.

However, yesterday I received this message:

Thanks! We did find one issue with commas and just wanted to ask you to double check through Word’s grammar checker going forward 🙂 Here it is:

One problem with comma use in it. Commas should only be before conjunctions when they’re separating two complete thoughts:

I went to the store, and I bought some peanut butter. CORRECT

I went to the store, and bought some peanut butter. INCORRECT
This should be: I went to the store and bought some peanut butter.

Please don’t hesitate to let me know if you have any questions 🙂

Okay, the didactic attitude is rude, but I’m trying to look past that. The main problem here is that she’s now “reminding” me to do something which the same person specifically requested I not do.

They’re good clients overall, and I think I’d like to keep doing business with them. I’m looking for a non-hostile way to point out that I cannot honor both requests at once, and that I’ve only been using the second approach because she requested it.

Here’s my draft. Feedback would be appreciated.