Fiverr Community Forum

Rude buyer who is also a seller - working in the same field as me

Hi there!

I am an illustrator, have been working in the creative field for a few years now. Which is why I find this case extremely blood boilling, hence my buyer, who is also a seller, also works in the creative field too as a graphic designer. The situation contained red flags from the beginning, but honestly I just thought we sort of just had a language barrier.

He approached me that he needs an icon set designed with 4 icons for x budget but he needs free sketches first. I said no sorry, I can not do this for you for the budget you have, also I am not providing anything for free. Hence he needed more than one illustration I have decided to give a bit of discount in each, but still it’s double of what he offered. Suddenly he had a budget to pay for my rates and suddenly those free sketches were not that important anymore.

I have created the first illustration for him, he accepted the order, my package contained 3 revisions, he used all of them. So when he wanted to change the picture for the 4th time, I have let him know that he needs to pay for the revision. Also, while creating this he had the image made in 3 different artistic styles, while in the beginning he basically begged me to make this for him, because he like MY style so much.

We are having a second order in progress while this is happening. He also changed the brief, the second order were much detailed for the same price, I have agreed to make this, but told him with the next icons stick to the detail that was originally described.

He goes AWOL for days, so I ask if he still needs the changes and also feedback on the second order would be crucial. He answers me that he is willing to pay HALF my revision cost to make the changes. Not asking if that can happen, no, he is telling me that this what he will pay. After giving him this many discounts, I found this the rudest thing he could have told me.