Second Thoughts on a Marketing Career?

williamti

I’ve almost finished my second to last semester as a marketing undergraduate. In the time I’ve found what I love is strategy and innovating ideas, however what I’ve drastically underestimated is my loathe for an office job. Recently I’ve been working for a consulting firm one day per week as a “Digital Marketing Intern”.

I sort of hate it? I dread coming in every week. I was dishes for a living an enjoy my time in the kitchen more (lesser of two evils situation)

I think I want to have a career outside of the office but my entire life has been built for this role, I always thought I wanted this but now I don’t even have the motivation, if this is what life exists for.

I’d like to be outside, around nature. Building personal connections, talking and engaging but I understand their are tradeoffs. Has anybody else backflipped on their undergrad degree’s? Cold feet about working in an office? I’ve always had the thought that in a career you should devote yourself and love what you do, beyond 9 - 5

I’ve almost finished my second to last semester as a marketing undergraduate. In the time I’ve found what I love is strategy and innovating ideas, however what I’ve drastically underestimated is my loathe for an office job. Recently I’ve been working for a consulting firm one day per week as a “Digital Marketing Intern”.

I sort of hate it? I dread coming in every week. I was dishes for a living an enjoy my time in the kitchen more (lesser of two evils situation)

I think I want to have a career outside of the office but my entire life has been built for this role, I always thought I wanted this but now I don’t even have the motivation, if this is what life exists for.