Fiverr Forum

Sellers Render Rating System Unreliable? (and chasing buyers away)

I have made several orders now on Fiverr but I find it harder and harder to use Fiverr anymore.

When an order is completed and I submit my rating, it’s becomes the trend for sellers to harass me to give them a 5 Star rating even if the experience was far from 5 stars.

The first thing they do is - “I’ll give you your money back” - it’s just $5 so they’d rather lose it than be given anything less than 5 stars, but to be honest - not all are 5-star professionals.

I’m a freelancer myself and I know the kind of client that is never happy and asks for countless revisions. So I respect people’s time. When I see that after one revision it’s not what I was looking for, I accept the job, say “thank you very much” and rate the seller.
The rating is not based on the output alone, but also on communication and service. A seller can provide a good product but poor service and no communication.

That is what the rating system is for - so clients have something to base their decision on. It’s not just stars - clients can write a text review to explain their rating or give their impression of the seller.
I gave a seller a 4-star rating (which isn’t bad!) and wrote that it wasn’t the design I was looking for, but that the seller was very communicative and prompt to answer, and I appreciated his effort and would recommend working with him.
I am now being harassed by this person into changing my rating to 5 stars. The amount of emails I get is borderline bullying. And not for the first time.

I had a seller harass me into writing customer service because I couldn’t change my review from the 4.5 stars I gave him, to 5 stars. I am not kidding, I spent hours on that correspondence before I realised what was being done to me.