Sellers with grammar mistakes in their listing. Should I notify them or mind my own business?

lasertsv

Hi Everyone!

I am new to Fiverr and I am using it to find editing and proofreading services for my nonfiction book. I have noticed that a lot of sellers offering proofreading and editing services on Fiverr have typos or errors in their listings. One example I saw today is “I will be your book editor, edit novels or story and do proofread”

English grammar is my weakness (that is why I need a proofreader and editor). However, do you think I should contact these sellers with a friendly notification of mistakes in their listings? Or should I just mind my own business?

Thanks!

I could definitely understand your concern. Personally, I like it when someone points out a mistake or suggestion, however I do know that some people can get rather defensive when a problem is pointed out. I think you could make the suggestion, but would definitely need to be very careful in how you approach them. Just my suggestion.

Here at the forum you will see a good number of people trying to promote their gigs, or ask for feedback. In many cases I’ve seen people asking for advice about their proofreading/editing gigs, but judging from their English you can tell that they clearly should not be offering those gigs, so when I am asked for help here at the forum, I will step in an point that out.

In other cases, I’ll leave them alone. Well, at least that’s what I will do. 🙂

I get annoyed when I see people offering writing gigs or proofreading gigs who are bad at English. On the forum I sometimes point out their mistakes, but if I were searching for a writer or proofreader I would want to see how they write their gig descriptions to see if they really are able to write properly. So I wouldn’t tell them their mistakes.

Hi Everyone!