So long and thanks for all the fish!

jive_a_five

Ah where to begin? At the beginning I suppose…or rather the end. Next month I would have been on Fiverr for two years. I say “would have” because I have decided to terminate my relationship with Fiverr and the wonderful members and clients that have walked with me on this journey.

Two years ago I was a single father, struggling to make ends meet, with a dream to find purpose in my passions. I had researched and join some other online freelance sites to no avail. As a musician, I knew my talents and creativity could surely be utilized by someone, somewhere, but other sites made it difficult to establish my services and get any business. Then along came Fiverr.

I had talked with a good friend and fellow musician for some time about utilizing our talents to make some extra money and validate our efforts with our music. I told him about Fiverr and he said he would be on board if I could find a way to stir up some interest.

Long story long, I grabbed a video camera and sat down with him to record our first Fiverr promo video. We created the gig page and waited. I wasn’t sure what to expect…Actually, I knew exactly what to expect. As mentioned previously, I had done this many times already on similar sites. I expected nothing at all…

Here is our old gig video (if you can still view the link):

https://www.fiverr.com/jive_a_five/write-a-customized-jingle-for-your-product-or-service-including-a-full-band-production

I received an email 3 days later…

It was our first job! As musicians on a Fiverr, it makes sense that our posting was for “jingles”. Short audio clips, no more than 30 seconds, that individuals and businesses could use to help promote their own companies and products. In the next weeks we got an additional 3 or so more gigs. It was working!