Songwriters - copyright question

una4987

Hello guys! I´m a rather new seller here on Fiverr. I do creative services mostly. One of the things I do is - songwriting. And I wanted to ask something, naimly, I get a lot of requests to ghost write, i.e. give up on my copyright. I don´t really want to do that, because i think it´s fair to be acknowledged for something you do. I don´t understand why someone would want all the profit for themselfs if someone else has helped them with it. On the other hand, I feel like I lost a lot of customers for not wanting to do that. So, I wanted to ask for a tip from other musicians here? How do you handle these things?

Thanks,

Greetings! 🙂

Hi @una4987! Welcome to Fiverr. I am not a musician, but I am a writer. Some writers don’t prefer to ghostwrite and some do. It’s all up to you. I prefer ghostwriting over writing, because I get more buyers and can cover topics with more variety. If someone wants me to write from a viewpoint that is different from my own, I can without having my name attached to it. For me it’s a win-win for earning money and writing for fun.

If you don’t like ghostwriting, just put in your description that you only offer writing if you get credit. You probably will get fewer buyers, but if you don’t need the money or don’t find it worth it, that’s your call. You can also offer a gig extra for ghostwriting and charge more to give up the copyright. I still think you’ll get less sales because there are many people on Fiverr who don’t charge extra, but if you are good enough and polished enough it might work.