Fiverr Forum

Spotting Someone Trying To Scam You

Alright, I’m pretty new to Fiverr (freelancing in general), and I’m concerned about a few things. Specifically, what does it look like when someone is trying to scam you?

I know the basics: don’t click on suspicious link, don’t give out personal information, if you receive a threatening message from the “Officials” it’s probably fake, etc. However, I also know that if a professional wants to scam you, they’re probably going to get away with it.

I just received an order that is leaving me…questionable. The buyer is asking me to do some work that I feel has absolutely no significance at all. He left me a link to follow to do the work. I ran the link through my security scanner, and it cautioned me that there was a phishing threat on the site. Here is the message:

"Hello Maddisont!

The url to visit is [not included]

Your user ID would be [also not included in-case this is legit]

The left side of the page will be a scene, the right side has a search bar. Basically the task is to draw a box around a product or object (click and drag), then use the search bar to find a matching image.

The search bar is a little slow, but it is just the first few results from Google image search, so it should be decent. The interface will keep a running tally of how many example you’ve tagged. We’ve estimated that it should be possible to tag a scene every 20-30 seconds or so. Feel free to skip images that are too bland, but try to tag 2-3 pieces per image if you can

Let me know if you have any questions."

Am I just paranoid? Or is this something I should pass on?

Does anyone else have tips on what to do to spot scammers before they get you?

Well i did have something similar in past.

But only when you get burned, you figure out why.