Star Math

danielml01

First, let me preface two things:

First, I love the fiverr platform as it has given me a ton of great experiences recording music for people all over the world.

Second, in addition to being a musician, I’m a professional web developer with a background in analytics.

The Problem:

Fiverr’s Star Rating calculation is inaccurate and misleading.

I’ve had 82 ratings:

6 4-star

17 5-star

59 thumbs up (we’ll count these as 5-stars, as it seems fiverr does.)

Fiverr’s math takes the total stars (404) and divides by the number of ratings (82) to yield 4.93 stars which they round down to 4.9 stars. Looks good, right? Sure, but it’s not that simple.

—BUYERS ORDER MULTIPLE GIGS AT ONCE AS WELL AS GIG EXTRAS—

Those 82 ratings actually represent 152 gigs-worth in sales!

6 4-star gigs

146 5-star gigs

or a rating of 4.96-stars/gig (which should be rounded up to 5-stars)

—% Positive—

Since I’ve only had 4 & 5-star ratings, one would expect my profile to read

Positive Rating : 100%

However it reads

Positive Rating : 98%

6 4-star ratings is not the same as 2% of people having a negative experience.

—Suggestions—

1. Since this is a gig economy, the star ratings should be weighted by the value of a gig. A rating on a $60 order should be weighted as 12 gigs worth of ratings.

2. % Positive should group 4 & 5-star ratings as positive (or +1). 3-star ratings as neutral (or +0). 2 & 1-star ratings as negative (or -1). This should be weighted again, by order value, and the final result divided by the total number of gigs rated.

3. Since sellers go through a vetting process to achieve levels and benefits, buyers should too - since new buyers aren’t familiar with a gig economy or the fiverr culture. Buyers should be able to gain levels through purchases as well as positive seller feedback.

I suggest 4 levels of buyers.

Level 1: