Star system theory

We have all been wondering the same question for the past week: "If Fiverr knows we hate the new star rating system, and if sellers are dropping out like flies, why won’t they change it? Why did they even implement this to begin with?"

I have a theory to share. I spoke about the whole situation with my dad who is in business. As soon as he heard the situation, he figured everything out.

It seems to me like someone working for Fiverr or someone who just joined the team wanted to assert their presence and wanted to make a significant change to look important. Probably someone whose job isn’t significant or necessary. They had a need to justify their existence. This happens all the time for businesses… They come on, make a mess, then say adios. Like a hand grenade!

Let me know what you think about this theory.

Reply to @alliemadison12: @freelancemm:

Here comes the “Personal Choice” of the buyer. For example I am a graphic designer. I do logos and business cards etc. But in this specific category each and everyone has a different taste. One thing can be a masterpiece for someone and the same thing is junk for the other one.

So with thumbs rating it was okay that if buyer didn’t like the work or it is not what they imagined/expected, they could just give a thumbs up to appreciate the efforts of seller. But now with STARS they do have a choice (Fiverr provided that) to rate the work (technically) 3 stars saying satisfied. Although seller (me) provided the best I could, if they needed another design they could buy another gig but why I would work for such buyer again?

DISAPPOINTING STAR RATING SYSTEM!!

I think if you live long enough, you’ll meet this person, or their clone or their cousin. A walking disaster, although not always obvious. The boss’s kid. The new hire who looks so great on paper (maybe with a falsified resume??). The end result is always the same: a huge mess, with the creator long gone and everyone else left to clean up.

sigh