Strange messages from people on Fiverr

anna_liu

Hi all - I am seeking some insights. I am fairly new to Fiverr, and though I have not had a lot of interested buyers. I have been receiving messages from people requesting to be “friends” rather than using Fiverr to seek services. Has anyone experienced this as well? Is it ok to block these people?

Am feeling a little bit sketchy about using this platform…

Report any messages like this. I used to get messages like this in the early days and I still get them from people on other platforms. You are basically being targeted by ‘social hackers.’ These are people who attempt to gain your trust before directing you to a phishing site or requesting personal ID details.

I have had inbox chats with quite a few Fiverr sellers. However, these are all people whom I have got to know here on the forum first.

If you do not know the person sending you a message and they simply want to be ‘friends,’ reply with a simple message stating that Fiverr is not an IM platform and you can only accept messages from prosoective buyers. Then report/block the person messaging.

Report any messages like this. I used to get messages like this in the early days and I still get them from people on other platforms. You are basically being targeted by ‘social hackers.’ These are people who attempt to gain your trust before directing you to a phishing site or requesting personal ID details.

I have had inbox chats with quite a few Fiverr sellers. However, these are all people whom I have got to know here on the forum first.

If you do not know the person sending you a message and they simply want to be ‘friends,’ reply with a simple message stating that Fiverr is not an IM platform and you can only accept messages from prosoective buyers. Then report/block the person messaging.

Thanks so much for taking the time to answer this question. I really appreciate it, this is so so super helpful!!😁