Fiverr Forum

Strongly leaning towards leaving

I’m very exhausted. I work as a Graphic & Illustration designer.

• My first mistake was thinking that something like art, that is typically a slow cooked process, could work in a volume sales environment.
  • Second mistake, tailoring my gigs to fit the volume sales/seller model rather than tailing them to fit my own time and skill set.

I make ink drawings that are digitized for Printing on Demand.
My best selling gig delivered:

1 design in two days,
2 designs in 4 days
and 3 designs in 6 days.

Not bad right? Sounded reasonable at first. Make one drawing in two days? Sure, I can do that. Except. My gig sold unexpectedly well. So imagine, getting 4-6 orders in a day- coming from an account that could only cop about 4 sales a month.
I admit, my eyes were larger than my stomach, I wanted them all and wanted to deliver them all. Don’t we all? And I did. As a matter of fact, for two years I never had an order marked as late.

Know that thing where Jon Baas always reminds you to treat Fiverr like a business? Well it’s pretty good advice- I listened to him and it worked. It was definitely paying off too.

As a result, Fiverr quite rapidly grew and took over my life. I allowed it to because was I good at it… I’m good at what I do. I love making art- absolutely love it. And above all it’s incredibly rewarding to see money in your pocket from something that got you in heaps of trouble at school (doodling on everything). The thing is though, there’s only so much sleep deprivation and self isolation you can take before it’s time to see a shrink. I started loosing my mind a little bit-perhaps I still am (lol).

4-6 orders a day really do sound scrumptious until you actually have to do them.
4-6 orders in one day,
all due on the same day
and that day is in two days.

As a designer and artist, unless you are selling clip-art (which is highly frowned upon) this is a very difficult thing to do much less maintain.