Fiverr Community Forum

Students asking for essays - rant alert

I’m a writer on Fiver and almost every day, I get messages from students who want me to write their academic assignments for them. It’s always the same kind of message - a short, typo-filled ‘hi I need you to write…’.

Maybe I’m too sensitive but… Does anybody else get offended by this? For a little context - I’m a postgrad student who really values integrity. I work my butt off for all my own essays for uni and it really makes me mad that some people are just able to buy their way through a degree and even ask me to help them cheat.

I know that Fiver prohibits this in their TOS - so how come I still get so many messages about this?

17 Likes

You still get those messages because people don’t read the ToS (and because they are the kind of people who have no integrity). Just check this forum at any given time of the day. Hundreds of sellers posting random, nonsensical complaints that could be solved by simply reading what they signed up to.

Although I do not offer writing, I sometimes receive messages asking me to help students with their homework as well. I think it is because I highlight my educational achievements in my profile. I have done so to offer extra proof for my English skills as I obtained my degree at an English-speaking university. I spent hours upon hours studying every day, reading each of my textbooks twice for better understanding while running my Fiverr account and a few other ventures. So, yes, I too am very offended that people want to cheat their way through their education.

Also, I think we would have a better society if people actually read what they were supposed to in school, took notes, did their own work, and applied themselves.

14 Likes

Obviously there are a lot of lazy students that want someone else to do the work for them.