The importance of giving referrals

fastcopywriter

One of the nicest things you can do for buyers is to refer work that’s not right for you to another seller. For example, today a guy messaged me asking if I’d be interested in writing a 200-300 word article, this is not something I enjoy doing, which is why I referred him to someone else.

This applies not just for writers, but for artists that won’t do certain categories (politics, gambling, etc), for people that lack expertise in certain areas. While you don’t make money right away, the seller that benefited might refer you back when he needs something or has something he can’t or won’t do.

Thanks for suggesting this. I have bought from other writers even though I offer writing gigs. Sometimes I either get overwhelmed with Fiverr work and use help from other writers for my personal blogs and other times I want writing on a topic that I’m not an expert in. If I buy writing and it’s good, I will recommend that seller to clients that contact me with requests that aren’t right for me.

One funny thing - I usually do inform the other seller that I’ve recommended them so they have a heads-up that a request might come their way and can look all the better with a fast response. If I have personal experience I’ll choose someone level 2 or lower (including new) that don’t seem to have a lengthy queue. About 3/4 that I recommend reply to either give a thanks or to let me know that they also are overwhelmed. I try to be sensitive to those replies and send more work their way if they need it and/or are new but not send buyers their way if they are overbooked. I get confused by the other 1/4 that don’t respond to my contact at all. I always appreciate referrals even if they aren’t right for me either. Regardless, good post! Happy 2015!