Fiverr Forum

The moral aspect of writing for students

I am a retired senior just working on fiverr for a couple reasons: 1. fulfills my creative need to write and 2. make extra money while staying home. I have a moral dilemma when students ask me to write papers for school…and I refuse the gig if they tell me that. Our future depends on those in school now and not doing one’s own work defeats the purpose of education. Of course some do not tell me and I have written a few papers that got handed in to professors. How do other writers feel about this? Is money the most important thing and am I being too picky?

As a student, I agree with you. It is important for students to write papers for themselves to grow and learn from it to become a better writer. I’m not proud to say this but I was extremely busy last year, and there was an easy writing class I was taking where I had to write a final paper. I outsourced it, and didn’t end up getting a good grade. I would have done much better writing it myself.

sallyinthevalle said: Is money the most important thing and am I being too picky?

You're not being too picky. If students don't do their work, a.) they are not learning the subject matter, and b.) they are not learning a work ethic - both of which are fundamental to being a well-rounded, valuable member of society.

In my opinion, you should never compromise your morals for a buck! I love what itsyourthing wrote. So true. Next time someone asks me to do write an essay for them, I’m just going to link them to this thread.

emasonwrites said: I love what itsyourthing wrote

Thanks. :)

I don’t think that you’re being picky at all, and I applaud your moral standards! Using someone else’s writing as your own is essentially lying, and you shouldn’t have any qualms about not wanting to be a partner in that kind of lie.