Fiverr Community Forum

This happens WAY too often

This is a direct copy and paste of a conversation I’m currently having, with personal details removed

Them: Hi joy i need voice over 209 words script in one day Thanks please let me know

Me: Hello! I can do this for you now. I currently charge $5 per 250 words + $5 for rushed delivery. If you need a commercial license it is an additional $10. Let me know if this is acceptable and I will set up the offer! If you accept, I can have the recording back to you within 2 hours.

Them: No will work with you in future too do this 5$ this time next tome will pay more
I need in 1 day I am an Animator and i will work with you in future too Send your sample voice over in mp3 format

Me: This is a $20 job as it is a commercial- I can’t do a $20 job for $5 I’m afraid. Lots of people say “I will work with you in the future too” to get cheap work. But this is how I make a living. I am afraid I cannot give you a 75% discount, you will have to find someone else to do the work for you.

Them: No i promise if you do a great job i will work

Me: If you are not willing to even pay 50% of my rates now, I have no reason to believe you will pay more in future. I can offer small discounts but 75% is way too high. Sorry

Them: I already got 8$ rate but don’t have enough money Right now in account

Me: My rates are already some of the lowest on fiverr. Asking me to lower them more is pretty rude

Them: No i am not that type of person that userp someone i promise that i pay more if you do a good