Fiverr Forum

Tips for non – native speakers of English on Fiverr

I do not know whether I am supposed to do this. I am not an admin here. I am a non – native speaker and seller here on Fiverr. I like Fiverr and over the last few weeks I have had some wonderful selling experiences here and a lot of help from the forum here. Being a non – native speaker I want to help other non – native speakers of English to find their way just as I did on Fiverr.

A few days ago it hit me that some non – native speakers were not getting the hang of things or might need some extra help here on Fiverr. It also came clear to me that some of the questions by non – native speakers here on the forum were related to English rather than Fiverr.

That does not mean that these non – native speakers do not know English. It means that occasionally they might not be acquainted with certain subtleties when it comes to the English language.

Some of the questions asked by non – native speakers may come across as odd to native speakers.

Therefore I want to start this little corner for non – native speakers who feel uncomfortable or insecure when first starting out on Fiverr.

To get this corner started I will explain some things I came across over the last few days.

• I do not know what a Gig means?

A gig is what you want to offer here on Fiverr. You need to advertise your gig. Therefore you have to make a Gig description. A gig description always has to be in English on Fiverr. Do you feel insecure about your English? You can write a draft first and have it spell – checked. Buyers might be put off by Gigs descriptions that contain grammar and spelling errors.

Are you still puzzled by the word Gig? When I was a little girl I thought it could only be showbiz related. I guess that is where the word is used mostly. In fact some gigs can be showbiz related, but they do not have to be! As long as you have skills, they can be turned into gigs: things you offer to do for money.

• Buyer requests?