Fiverr Forum

Trash translation from English to Chinese

Actually, I’m a Chinese guy doing business in USA. We have one manual needed being translated from English to Chinese. It’s sure I can deal with it, but I have other project to finish. So I did a task to one seller in Fiverr. Finally, it’s translated by top rated seller in Fiverr, but *******, the sentence is a little bit better than google translator. That’s why I leave a 3 star on review.
What I can’t imagine is that the seller gave me 1 star as feedback. Then I gave one example, you translate “remove headlights” to be “delete headlights”, but she told me it should be based on context. WTF!!! AM I STUPID OR IS SHE STUPID?
So be careful, when your translation content is important, please don’t find one in Fiverr, because you couldn’t understand what they translated.

reply by myself, xd

second floor

Stupidity is in the eye of the beholder. Replying gibberish to oneself could be an example.

Since I am a translator, allow me to hop in…
When it comes to translating, it is very scary in my opinion. I have seen tons of horrible translations by people who claim to be professionals ( and I am guessing their clients have no idea how bad/wrong the translation is), and several years ago I was asked to translate a content for a website…for a translating company! It said stuff like “All of our translators are well trained professionals, blah blah blah…” and I was sitting there thinking “Wow, then why the heck are you not asking your so-called professional staff to translate the website instead of asking me, a complete stranger on Fiverr…”

Since I have seen so many bad translation examples, I get quite paranoid when I ask for translation jobs myself to other people. They must be people I know directly and can trust, and personally I will never use an online service or a translation firm.