Fiverr Forum

Tutorial for New buyer


#1

If you are new to Fiverr and are trying to learn the ropes on how to buy a gig and get what you want, you should look at this topic. There are many questions commonly asked by new and regular buyers, so I’ve decided to compile the answers from the more experienced, the Fiverr Blog, The ToS, and the support guides.



Ordering a gig

BEFORE YOU ORDER make sure to read through the full description, watch any videos they have, and look through the picture samples; many sellers request you contact them before you order so they can confirm they can do what you need. Also remember to select the appropriate gig extras available on the gig. When ready, click the big green “Order Now” button on the gig’s page, then follow the instructions by inputting your payment option and submitting the information requested by the seller.



Finding Your Orders

If you want to see what you ordered and keep a record of your orders you can easily see all the information by hovering over your name in the top right corner of the Fiverr page, click My Orders, then click Orders. This will let you check the statuses of your current orders and help you visit them with ease.



Cancelling an order

Before cancelling, please understand the funds you used to order the gig WILL NOT go back to your PayPal or other private account; it will be credited back to you for Fiverr use only.

• If you ordered a gig by mistake, do NOT send a message in the order page and do not respond to the requested information. Instead, click “Resolution Center” on the top of the order page and click the “This isn’t what I wanted” option to start the cancellation process.

• If the order is already started and you wish to cancel, first make sure to communicate with your seller to figure out if there is any other way you two could work out the details of finishing the order. If not, click “Resolution Center” on the top of the order page to request a mutual cancellation. Be aware that this affects Sellers negatively, so they will try to avoid it.

More information on how to get what you paid for here: http://support.fiverr.com/hc/en-us/articles/200051156-How-to-make-sure-you-get-what-you-paid-for



Marking an order "Complete"

When the seller delivers their product/service, the order status will be changed to “Delivered”. At this time you have the option to rate your experience with the seller and leave feedback which can be viewed by the public. If you decide not to rate and leave feedback, the gig will be marked as “Complete” after three days.



The “Request Modification” button

Sellers HATE this button; it will turn the clock back on so the gig will be considered ‘late’ AND it shows up on their screen as “Rejected” even if all you want is a tiny tweak. Many sellers have a modification policy on their gigs, so read the description before clicking this button. IN FACT, we highly recommend you ignore that button and just request modifications by sending a message on the order page.



Creating a gig request

If you cannot find the offer you are looking for, you can always try the buyer requests section. Just hover over your username, click Requests, then click Request A Gig. Your gig request should be short and to the point without links; you can talk out the details with the sellers who offer their gigs.



Your account funds

Fiverr currently does not give anyone the option to add or deposit funds into their Fiverr account from any personal account. Buyers can only submit their payment information when they order a gig. You can track what you’ve done with your funds under My Orders in the drop down menu from your username.



Paying the seller

When you submit your payment information after clicking the “Order Now” button, your payment for the order is held by Fiverr. After the seller delivers and the gig status moves to “Complete” the seller will then wait 14 days for your payment to be released by Fiverr into their Fiverr account. Please remember that a seller is earning slightly less than 80% of the funds you paid for the gig.



Closing your account

This isn’t really an option right now, and there doesn’t need to be one. If you don’t want to continue using Fiverr, all you need to do is stop visiting the site. But, if you really want to close your account so you can create a new one (since Fiverr only allows a user to have one account) you can contact Customer Support and request the account be closed.



Moderator Note: This user’s own account is now closed. It is suggested that sellers not use fake photos or other fake profile information. User’s are also encouraged to post real original tips instead of copy/paste information.




Fiverr Customer Support

http://support.fiverr.com




#2

This part should be considered with caution:

natashalogos said: The "Request Modification" button
Sellers HATE this button; it will turn the clock back on so the gig will be considered 'late' AND it shows up on their screen as "Rejected" even if all you want is a tiny tweak. Many sellers have a modification policy on their gigs, so read the description before clicking this button. IN FACT, we highly recommend you ignore that button and just request modifications by sending a message on the order page.

Some sellers may hate it and some may not, but since most of this “tutorial” post is copied from Fiverr content, it is important to note that this part was inserted based on the opinion of the seller who posted. I personally wish that it did stop the clock entirely and I dislike how the button works. Since Fiverr includes the Request Modification option, though, buyers do have the right to use it if preferred.


#3

If you have a bad experience with a seller request a cancellation and move on. If you take the time to look around you will start to see that some sellers stand out from the rest and you are reasonably sure of a great outcome.


#4

This is good, some buyers should read this before ordering gigs


#5

This topic is a copy-paste from /discussion/16117/guide-tips-to-buying-on-fiverr-updated-aug-10th-2015/p1

Also I find it weird that the logo’s and oil portraits you offer are everywhere on the internet and designed by different people, and I don’t think you are one of them.

Is this you or you ‘borrowed’ this photo?


#6

Closing your account
This isn’t really an option right now, and there doesn’t need to be one. If you don’t want to continue using Fiverr, all you need to do is stop visiting the site. But, if you really want to close your account so you can create a new one (since Fiverr only allows a user to have one account) you can contact Customer Support and request the account be closed.

You can deactivate the account on Account Actions



#7

Reply to @misscrystal: Yes 100% accurate misscrystal.


#8

Reply to @sadaqat96: Whose baby are you using as your profile pic? That looks kind of odd.


#9

Reply to @fonthaunt:
Probably a way to raise awareness for Down’s Syndrome.


#10

Reply to @alw1nl: Luckily this user’s account has been closed either at her request or due to ToS violations. Since the OP cannot respond with the original account, the thread will be closed.

To other readers: I suggest caution to anyone considering using fake information or taking the advice of someone using fake information.


#11

Reply to @dexblog: Thanks for the tip on account closure. I think this is a new option. Users should take special note that you should only deactivate your account after withdrawing any revenues or you are technically abandoning any funds in your account.