Fiverr Forum

Unfortuneately: "You get what you pay for..." :(

I started a logo design very professional brief (I have 20 years experience in strategic marketing client and agency side) with the seller “actual reviewnet” (3 logos) I paid extra for further revisions and extra for speed. It was a painful experience. the first 2 sets of logos he sent were completely off brief. and I think quite late.

Then he sent one which was on brief but had negative connotations and that needed mods and was overall not very impactful. To help him I loosened the brief to accept symbols I previously wanted excluded as they were too common. He was really struggling with concepts / the strategic dimension of the logo. So I gave him about 20 examples to explain how to turn a logo “clever”. I also offered a doodle concept for one of the logos he could provide and loosened the brief further. While giving him some feedback that he was not doing too well for now and that I was sure we could get there. He then simply requested to cancel the job and made me lose close to 2 weeks and a lot of work. Then, because I accepted, having lost enough time, it seems that Fiverr won’t let me give him a rating, getting this improvised designer carrying on wasting client’s time. which is not really good process and helping, is it?

the Fiverr concept is good, but the issue is that there needs to be a degree of selection at the door, OR a better rating process. because otherwise its going to fall flat on his face for repeat purchase.

I won’t be using fiver again for design work that requires actually delivering against the brief. throwing some randomised vector logos is not being a logo designer. I’ll give a try to 99 designs. And if that doesn’t work, I’ll go to a proper agency. I’ll probably use fiver for some less strategic work though, such as creative illustration etc …

Sorry to hear about your bad experience! There are some great sellers on Fiverr, too bad you didn’t find one to match your needs.