Fiverr Forum

Warning! Hackers on Fiverr

:exclamation::exclamation::exclamation:

Hello!
Just wanted to share my experience and warn the others. I’ve been working on Fiverr for 2 years now and I didn’t have this problem in the past. However, in the last 2 weeks, I received 3 messages from someone who clearly wanted to hack my PC/Account.

They used 2 different methods, let me explain:

1. He sent me a message in our inbox, trying to explain his needs and attach the file - pretty standard. What was suspicious?
  • Really bad English. I’m not talking about someone who doesn’t know the language and is trying his best or uses a Google translator - it was looking like a ‘fake bad English’.
  • New account, created this month, a few days ago.
  • Size of the file. Considering his needs and the size of the typical.mp4, few KB were just a no.

I’ve downloaded a file (.zip) and scan it with anti-virus. NO VIRUS WAS FOUND. However, it was a .exe file which is something that you definitely don’t need as a video editor. Of course, I didn’t even click on it or unzip the folder. Delete immediately and change my passwords. I immediately reported this to the Fiverr support and they banned the account.

Unfortunately, he contacted me again yesterday or something. Same message, same file - just a different, new account. He got reported and banned within a few hours.

1. This method is definitely more effective. ‘Buyer’ contacted me and explained that he wants me to create a gig video for him. What was suspicious?
  • Again, new account. Created this month, a few days ago.
  • Decent English but very short sentences, not many details about the project. He didn’t want to describe his need and answer my questions.
  • Fast responses with some guarantees and good looking figures. ‘Budget: 100$’ or ‘I can pay it within next few hours’ etc.