Fiverr Forum

Wasted several hours of my life just to get an order cancelled

This is my first time posting here,

I had a buyer who ordered an object illustration. I had given him 5 limited revisions and I completed the work in a couple days. Once the order was delivered (including source files), the buyer requested for revisions, I may add around 30 revisions on a single illustration which drove me crazy. On every small detail, he wanted a revision. I did it anyway, he was satisfied with the end result and left a 5 Star review. The order was automatically marked complete, he did request anything more. After 12 days he comes and requests for the source files of the illustration, I had asked him earlier whether he wanted them and he never replied.

The source files were obviously deleted because I have orders everyday and I cannot keep every source file. I kept it for 3 days then deleted it. He contacted CS and cancelled the order successfully.

I contacted CS and they couldn’t help me in it. I just wasted so many hours of my life on something so useless and it sort of made me pissed that I had done so many revisions on it for free and he was able to cancel the order entirely.

Well, after this little mistake I understood a lot and now I deliver source files whether the buyer wants it or not.

Don’t do this. Make buyers charge extra for source files. If you don’t you will just end up giving away more work for free.

I recently had an order cancelled by CS to and it was made obvious to me that the buyer does this regularly by him saying: “Don’t waste your time or mine” when I refused to cancel.

What you can do to try and prevent situations like this from recurring, is break orders up into smaller chunks. I don’t know how this would work with what you offer. However, I doubt that CS would cancel several delivered orders on request. - Then again, you never know.